Our Congress in Macau, two decisions and outcome of elections

The XXII Congress of the International Comparative Literature Association took place at the University of Macau, from 29 July to 2 August 2019, despite a typhoon’s attempt to disrupt it. The Congress was preceded by the ICLA Executive Council Meeting and International Comparative Literature Forum, held at the University of Shenzhen and co-hosted by the Chinese Comparative Literature Association and Shenzhen University. The ICLA is very grateful to the CCLA, the University of Macau, the University of Saint Joseph, Shenzhen University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Renmin University of China and the Macao Association of Convention, Exhibition and Tourism Sectors for their generous support, and to the Organizing Committee for all their excellent work.

Minutes of the last meeting of the Executive Council 2016-19, of the new EC for 2019-2022, and the General Assemblies that took place at the Congress will be published as soon as they are ready. We anticipate here two significant decisions: ICLA membership fees for Graduate Students (Masters and doctoral) will be waived; and a travel grant will be established to support Early Career Researchers. More details will be published in due course.

The results of the elections of the Executive Council for the 2019-2022 term are (full details will be published shortly at http://www.ailc-icla.org/icla-organization/):

President: Sandra Bermann
Vice-Presidents: Huilin Yang; Lucia Boldrini; EV Ramakrishan; Márcio Seligmann-Silva
Secretaries: Anne Tomiche; Paulo Horta
Treasurers: Roberto Vecchi (Europe/Africa/Middle East); Noriko Hiraishi (Asia/Pacific); Adelaide Russo (Americas)
Members of the Executive Committee: Marie-Thérèse Abdelmessih; Piero Boitani; Ipshita Chanda; Toshiko Ellis; Oana Fotache-Dubălaru; Robert Gáfrik; Isabel Gómez; Marina Grishakova; Stefan Helgesson; Marko Juvan; Youngmin Kim; Adam Kola; Sangjin Park; Bruce Robbins; Mads Rosendahl Thomsen; Rita Terezinha Schmidt; Takayuki Yokota-Murakami; Xiaohong Zhang.