Member and Supporting Associations

For information on individual membership and membership through national associations of comparative literature, please see the Membership Information page.

(NB: the American Comparative Literature Association (ACLA) is now a “supporting association” and its members need to take out individual membership to have the full benefits of ICLA membership.)

Azerbaijan

Azerbaijani Association

President

  • Rahilya Geybullayeva – Baku Slavic University and Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences, Literary Institute   -   rahilya_g@hotmail.com

Vice President

  • Sevinj Bakhishova - Independent scholar (UCL, UK graduate, a former head of Literature dep., Azerb. Languages University)   -   sevinj.b@hotmail.co.uk
  • Fidana Musayeva - Associate Prof. Moscow State University   -   fidana.musayeva@yandex.ru

Secretary

  • Nargiz Omarova – Baku State University   -   nar.omarova@gmail.com

Brazil

Brazilian Association (ABRALIC)

President

  • Gerson Roberto Neumann (UFRGS)   -   gerson.neumann@gmail.com

Vice President

  • Betina Ribeiro Rodrigues da Cunha (UFU)

First Secretary

  • Kelcilene Gracia Rodrigues (UFMS)

Second Secretary

  • Wilton Barroso Filho (UnB)

First Treasurer

  • Danglei de Castro Pereira (UnB)

Second Treasurer

  • Anna Herron More (UnB)

Bulgaria

Bulgarian Association (ACCL/CALIC)

President of the Board

  • Nikolay Aretov – Bulgarian Academy of Sciences   -   naretov@gmail.com

Secretaries

  • Roumiana L. Stantcheva   -   r.l.stancheva@gmail.com
  • Boyka Ilieva   -   boyka@abv.bg
  • Malamir Spassov   -   malamirski@gmail.com

Treasurers

  • Vitana Kostadinova   -   vitana.kostadinova@gmail.com
  • Teodora Tzankova   -   t.tzankova@gmail.com

Canada

Canadian Comparative Literature Association (CCLA/ACLC)

President

  • Joshua Synenko   -   josh.synenko@gmail.com

Vice President

  • Doris Hambuch   -   doris.hambuch@gmail.com

Treasurer

  • Jerry White   -   gerald.white@usask.ca

China

Chinese Association (CCLA)

President

  • Wang Ning   -   wangning@tsinghua.edu.cn

General Secretary

  • Zhang Hui (PKU)

Deputy Secretary

  • Zhang Jing   -   jing.cathy.zhang@ruc.edu.cn

Croatia

Croatian Association

President

  • Slaven Jurić   -   slaven.juric@ffzg.hr

Treasurer

  • Kristina Grigić   -   kgrgic2@ffzg.hr

Czech Republic And Slovakia

Czech and Slovak Association of Comparative Literature

President

  • Robert Gafrik   -   rgafrik@yahoo.com

Vice-president

  • Milos Zelenka   -   zelenka@pf.jcu.cz

Egypt

Egyptian Society (ESCL)

  • Department Of Greek and Latin Studies Faculty of Arts, Cairo University P.O. Box 12613 Hadekat Al-Orman (Orman Garden) Giza, Egypt

International Officer

  • Lobna Ismail   -   lillyismail@yahoo.co.uk

Estonia

Estonian Association (EACL)

President

  • Liina Lukas   -   liina.lukas@ut.ee

Secretary

  • Jüri Talvet   -   talvet@ut.ee

Secretary

  • Katiliina Gielen   -   katiliina.gielen@ut.ee

France

Société Française de Littérature Générale et Comparée (SFLGC)

President

  • Jean-Louis Haquette (U. Reims Champagne-Ardenne)   -   jean-louis.haquette@univ-reims.fr

Secretary

  • Zoé Schweitzer   -   zoe.schweitzer@univ-st-etienne.fr

Treasurer

  • Sébastien Wit (U. La Rochelle)   -   sebastien.wit@u-picardie.fr

Georgia

Georgian Comparative Literature Association (GCLA)

Honorable President

  • Irma Ratiani   -   ir.ratiani@gmail.com

President

  • Gaga Lomidze   -   gagalomidze@gmail.com

Vice President

  • Maka Elbakidze

Secretary and Treasurer

  • Tatia Oboladze   -   tatia.oboladze@gmail.com

Germany

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft (DGAVL)

President

  • Annette Simonis   -   Annette.Simonis@germanistik.uni-giessen.de

Vice-President

  • Martin Sexl   -   martin.sexl@uibk.ac.at

Secretary/Treasurer

  • Alexandra Müller   -   alexandra.mueller@germanistik.uni-giessen.de

Board Members

  • Achim Geisenhanslüke   -   Geisenhanslueke@lingua.uni-frankfurt.de
  • Joachim Barst   -   jharst1@uni-bonn.de

Great Britain

British Comparative Literature Association (BCLA)

President

  • Susan Bassnett   -   S.Bassnett@warwick.ac.uk

Secretary

  • Ben Hutchinson   -   B.Hutchinson@kent.ac.uk

Treasurer

  • Margaret-Ann Clarke   -   bclatreasurer@btinternet.com

Please direct any general enquiries to the treasurer.

Greece

Greek Association (GCLA)

  • grcomplitass@gmail.com

President

  • Vicky Patsiou   -   vpatsiou@primedu.uoa.gr

Vice-president

  • Agathos Athanasios   -   thagathos@phil.uoa.gr

Secretary

  • Antigone Vlavianou   -   vlavianou@eap.gr
  • Giannis Xourias   -   yxourias@phil.uoa.gr

Treasurer

  • Persa Apostoli   -   persapost@yahoo.gr

Hungary

Hungarian Association

President

  • Péter Hajdu   -   pethajdu@gmail.com

Secretary

  • Zoltán Varga   -   z.varga.zoltan@gmail.com

Treasurer

  • Anikó Sohár   -   asohar@gmail.com

No Information Currently Available

India

Comparative Literature Association Of India

President

  • E.V. Ramakrishnan   -   evrama51@gmail.com

Vice President

  • Kavita A. Sharma (Delhi)
  • Tapati Mukherjee (Kolkata)

General Secretary

  • Chandra Mohan (Delhi)   -   c.mohan.7@hotmail.com

Secretary

  • Anisur Rahman (Delhi)
  • Sayantan Dasgupta (Kolkata)

Treasurer

  • Rindon Kundu (Kolkata)
  • Sarvchetan Katoch (Delhi

Italy – compalit

Associazione di Teoria e Storia Comparata della Letteratura

President

  • Federico Bertoni

Vice-President

  • Clotilde Bertoni

Treasurer

  • Giulio Iacoli

Secretary

  • Stefano Ercolino   -   stefano.ercolino@virgilio.it

Italy – SICL

President

  • Paola Mildonian

Japan

Japan Comparative Literature Association (JCLA)

President

  • Naoko Fuwa-Thornton   -   thorntonfn@gmail.com

Chief Executive

  • Toshiko Ellis   -   ellis@boz.c.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Head of international communications

  • Noriko Hiraishi   -   hiraishi.noriko.gn@u.tsukuba.ac.jp

Korea

Korean Comparative Literature Association (KCLA)

President

  • Jae-Ryong JO (Korea University)   -   rythme@korea.ac.kr

Secretary

  • Hyonhui CHOE (Hankuk Univ. of Foreign Studies)   -   hhchoe@hufs.ac.kr

Head of international communications

  • Hyung-jin LEE (Sookmyung Women's Univ.)   -   jinlee@sookmyung.ac.kr

Luxembourg

Société luxembourgeoise de littérature générale et comparée (SLLGC)

President

  • Sébastian Thiltges   -   sebastian.thiltges@uni.lu

Secretaries

  • Fabienne Gilbertz   -   fabiennegilbertz@gmail.com
  • Jenny Schank   -   jennyschank@hotmail.com

Treasurer

  • Jeff Schinker   -   jeff_schinker@yahoo.com

Macedonia

Macedonian Association

President

  • Slavica Srbinovska   -   srbinovskas@gmail.com

Morocco

Moroccan Comparative Literature Association (MCLA)

President

  • Prof Hassan Taleb   -   hassan22taleb@yahoo.fr

Poland

President

  • Adam Kola   -   adamkola@umk.pl

Secretaries

  • Marta Skwara   -   marta.skwara@univ.szczecin.pl
  • Ewa Szcezesna   -   e.szczesna@uw.edu.pl
  • Michal Kuziak   -   michalkuziak@wp.pl
  • Andrzej Hejmej   -   andrzej.hejmej@gmail.com

Portugal

Associação Portuguesa de Literatura Comparada (APLC)

President

  • Odete Jubilado   -   jubilado@uevora.pt

Vice-President

  • Ana Isabel Moniz   -   anamoniz@uma.pt

Secretary

  • Camila Seixas e Sousa   -   camilasousa@letras.ulisboa.pt

Treasurer

  • Simão Valente   -   mb2@campus.ul.pt

Romania

Asociaţia de Literatură Generală şi Comparată din România

President

  • Mircea Martin   -   mircea_martin@yahoo.com

Vice-President

  • Corin Braga
  • Caius Dobrescu
  • Adrian Lăcătuș

Secretary

  • Oana Soare

Censor

  • Vasile Spiridon
  • Angelo Mitchievici

Slovenia

Slovensko društvo za primerjalno književnost (SDPK)

President

  • Alen Širca   -   alen.albin.sirca@ff.uni-lj.si

Secretary

  • Matic Kocijančič   -   matickoco@gmail.com

Treasurer

  • Blaž Zabel   -   blaz.zabel@durham.ac.uk

South Africa

South African Association (LASA)

President

  • Reinhardt Fourie – University of South Africa   -   fourir@unisa.ac.za

Vice-President

  • Silindiwe Sibanda – University of Pretoria   -   silindiwe@gmail.com

Secretary

  • Neil van Heerden – University of South Africa   -   vheern@unisa.ac.z

Spain

Sociedad Española de Literatura General y Comparada (SELGyC)

  • http://www.selgyc.com/
  • info@selgyc.com
  • Facultad de Filología. Edificio D., Ciudad Universitaria. Universidad Complutense de Madrid, 280014 - Madrid, Spain

President

  • Dámaso López García   -   dlopez@filol.ucm.es

Secretary

  • Ana González-Rivas Fernández   -   ana.gonzalez-rivas@uam.es

Treasurer

  • María Ángeles Ciprés Palacín   -   ninescp@filol.ucm.es

Switzerland

Swiss Association (ASLGC)

President

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Hunkeler - Université de Fribourg   -   thomas.hunkeler@unifr.ch

Secretary

  • Dr. Julian Reidy   -   Julian.Reidy@me.com

Treasurer

  • Dr. Stefanie Leuenberger - ETH Zürich   -   stefanie.leuenberger@gess.ethz.ch

Taiwan

Taiwan Association (CLAROC)

President

  • Sun-chieh Liang   -   scliang@ntnu.edu.tw

Deputy President

  • Yungchao Liao   -   yungchaoliao@ntu.edu.tw

General Secretary

  • Chingshun J. Sheu   -   claroc100@gmail.com

Ukraine

Ukrainian Association

President

  • Dmytro Nalivayko

Secretary

  • Olha Romanov   -   olhavikromanova@gmail.com

United States Of America (Supporting Association)

American Comparative Literature Association

President

  • Sangeeta Ray   -   rays@umd.edu

Vice-President

  • Shu-mei Shih Shih   -   shih@humnet.ucla.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

  • Dina Al-Kassim   -   Dina.Al-Kassim@ubc.ca